I Am Princess X.jpg
 

I Am Princess X

Written by Cherie Priest

Illustrated by Kali Ciesemier


Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen, & illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the comics, May wrote the stories, and Princess X fought monsters, ghosts, and other assorted creepazoids from her haunted house high on a hill.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across a bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now, May is sixteen and lonely when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window - a figure in a gold crown, pink dress, red Chucks, and a long katana sword...

Princess X? Suddenly May sees the princess everywhere: stickers, patches, graffiti - an entire underground world built around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the comic, the more shocking connections she finds between Libby's death and Princess X's adventures. And that means only one person could have started this phenomenon - her best friend, Libby, who lives.

Illustrated throughout with the Princess X webcomic, I Am Princess X is a mystery, wrapped in a friendship story, bound up with a cyberthriller - and all-around awesome.


Reviews and Awards

An Amazon Best Book of the Month, Teen & YA
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens
2016 YALSA Quick Pick for Young Adult Readers

⋆ "Fresh and contemporary, this hybrid novel/comic packs a lot of plot in a relatively short book, but its strongest suit may be Priest's keen understanding of the chasmic gap between the way teens and adults engage in the landscape of the Internet." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

⋆ "Fresh and authentic... Accompanying illustrations by Ciesemier bring the story found in the webcomic to life and integrate beautifully with May's search for Libby in this utterly satisfying read. An excellent book with loads of cross-genre and cross-format appeal. Highly recommended." - School Library Journal, starred review

⋆ "Interspersed with Ciesemier's webcomic-style illustrations, Priest's YA debut is an engrossing cyberthriller packed with a puzzling mystery, crackerjack detective work, and an eerie, atmospheric sense of place. The unembellished style is a perfect match for the noir-lite tone, and May and Trick, whose banter crackles with energy, rival any team of gumshoes out there. Teens who roll their eyes at adults out of touch with Internet culture will eat this up." - Booklist, starred review


Purchase Options
Indiebound • Scholastic Store • Amazon • Barnes & Noble


Summer 2015
Young Adult Fiction
ISBN: 978-0-545-62085-7
Price: $18.99 / $21.99
Trim Size: 5 1/2" x 8 1/4"
Page Count: 240
Foreign Rights: Scholastic
Translation Rights: Scholastic
Rights Available? yes


Also see: