Lovely, Dark, and Deep.jpg
 

Lovely, Dark, and Deep

By Justina Chen


A delicious YA romance about a young woman learning to live without the sun while fighting for her chance at love, for fans of Everything, Everything!

When Viola Li returns from a trip, she develops a sudden and extreme case of photosensitivity -- an inexplicable allergy to sunlight. Thanks to her crisis-manager parents, she doesn't just have to wear layers of clothes and spaceship-sized hat. She has to avoid all hint of light. Say goodbye to windows and running outdoors. Even her phone becomes a threat.Viola is determined to maintain a normal life, particularly after she meets Josh. He's a funny, talented Thor look-alike with his own mysterious grief. But their romance makes her take more risks, and when a rebellion against her parents backfires dangerously, she must find her way to a life -- and love -- as deep and lovely as her dreams.


Reviews and Awards

"A luminous read that will rekindle your faith in the indomitable human spirit and make you want to spend more time in starlight." - Matthew Quick, author ofThe Silver Linings Playbook and Every Exquisite Thing

"Viola's story explores one of life's big questions: are we defined by our losses or will we allow them to lead us into an even more meaningful hero's journey? InLovely, Dark, and Deep, Justina Chen has crafted an inspiring, romantic novel full of redemption and hope for teens and adults alike." - Mitali Perkins, author of You Bring the Distant Near

⋆ "Fresh, often funny…. Readers won't be able to help but root for Viola in this moving, empowering book about a teen recalculating her well-laid plans, all in a vivid voice." - Booklist, starred review

"Chen convincingly evokes not only Viola's physical discomfort but also the emotional impact of living with an incurable disease. Viola's parents' despair, her sister's frustration, and Josh's fear that he will somehow bring harm to Viola are delineated equally well. No matter the darkness of the subject, Chen provides glimmers of hope as she reveals Viola's battle to reclaim a form of normalcy." - Publishers Weekly

"Chen gives readers a sensitive glimpse into what living with a chronic illness might be like…. Readers will root for Viola as she searches for new purpose. A strong exploration of resilience in the face of life unpredictable." - Kirkus Reviews

"Teens will want to read this for the romance and rare medical condition, but they will stay for the sympathetic protagonist who must come to terms with her changed reality…. Sure to be popular and recommended for all collections." - School Library Journal


Purchase Options
Indiebound • Amazon • Barnes & Noble


Summer 2018
Young Adult Fiction
ISBN: 978-1-338-13406-3
Price: $18.99
Trim Size: 6" x 8 3/4"
Page Count: 352